Weekend Wanderings – No Freeway Through Banyule

A grea new photo blog from Leanne Cole about the Banyule Flats area. Leanne’s photos reflect our long dry summer and that it’s nearly autumn, one of my favourite times of the year here in Banyule. I hope Leanne continues to follow the change of seasons at Banyule Flats in her blog. Enjoy!

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

This is what the state government wants to do near where I live, build a freeway right through some of the most amazing land in the city of Melbourne.  We have a government that is very short sighted and they only think cars.  The solution to every problem is to build more freeways, apparently.  We get promised train lines, but then they renege.  So today I thought I might show you where they want to put the freeway.

LeanneCole-banyule-20140302-0503People have these signs up in the front of their houses, us included.  I found this one lying on the ground on top of a nearby hill.  When I went out this morning I wanted to see if I could get photos of the sunrise on a hill not far from where I live.  Of course, as my luck goes, I went out and there was no real sunrise.

LeanneCole-banyule-20140302-0513There were too…

View original post 441 more words

About Friends of Banyule Inc

President & Public Officer of Friends of Banyule Inc, a community not- for-profit organisation to enhance and protect the environmental assets of Banyule City. Currently fighting the proposed NE Link freeway through one of inner Melbourne's most ecologically sensitive areas and historical areas.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

